Matt Gorry was also named Rookie of the Year by the Wallaceburg Red Devils Junior ‘B’ team in 2017 (Aaron Hall)

Matt Gorry took home the top individual prize, while the Midget Team was the top team as the Wallaceburg Minor Lacrosse Association doled out their annual awards.

Major award winners:

– Griffin Of The Year – Matt Gorry

– Coach of the Year – Todd Knight

– Team of the Year – Midget

– Kim O’Neil and Family Memorial Trophy – Mike Parker and Dave Ortibus

– Norm Cole Award – Melissa Floin

– Joanne Smith Memorial – Brennor Jacobs

– Heart & Soul Award – -C.J. Gibson

– Phenix of the Year – Brayden Mitchell

– Referee of the Year – Emily Vandamme

Here are the individual awards for each team:


– Rance Soney, tyke

– Drew O’Neil, novice

– Kaelen Smith and Logan Houle, peewee

– Morgan Gorry, bantam

– Lucas Jacobs, midget

– C.J. Gibson, intermediate

– Jade Barko, intermediate girls

Phenix Award

– Lucas Wilbur, tyke

– Adam Trella, novice

– Brayden Mitchell, peewee

– Kayne Gagnier, bantam

– Riley Parker, midget

– Troy Nahdee, intermediate

– Wahbzii Shognosh, intermediate girls

Most Improved Player

– Luca Kicknosway, tyke

– Cohen Kirkwood, novice

– Preston Anderson, peewee

– Breck Rainy, bantam

– Landon Allaer, midget

– Zac Nicholson, intermediate

– Senna Shognosh, intermediate girls

For more details, visit:

– Photo credit: Aaron Hall

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)