Kyle Dawson, Cory Lucier, Bronson Bea

The Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame selection committee has announced it’s 2018 winners.

The winners will be honoured at their annual dinner on January 26, 2019.

The winners, include:

Brendan Seys – 2018 Athlete of the Year: In 2018 Seys completed a very successful sophomore year at Wayne State University playing on the golf team in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) and was named all-GLIAC first team. Seys appeared in 12 varsity tournaments, winning three of them, he led the roster with a 73.0 stroke average, had six top 10 finishes and had six rounds in the 60’s. Seys’ 36 hole total of 137 at the Bucknell Tournament is the best two-day total in school history. In 2016/17 Seys was named GLIAC freshman of the year and was named to the all-GLIAC second team. Prior to university, Seys won the Ontario Bantam Championship in 2010 by five strokes. He played golf in the Ontario junior program from 2006 to 2016 and represented Team Ontario and Team Canada at different age levels in tournaments across the United States. Seys earned a CJGA National Order of Merit Award and was an Ontario Scholar in 2016. Seys is now a member of the Wayne State leadership council and is studting in the accounting major program.

Bronson Bea, Lee Salisbury and Megan Seed Co-winners of the 2018 Coach of the Year Award: All three coaches won Ontario Lacrosse Championships. As head coach, Bea led the Wallaceburg 2018 Bantam Griffins lacrosse team to the Ontario ‘C’ championship. The bantams played in a tough zone seven league against teams from London, Windsor and Sarnia. An upset victory over sarnia sent the Bantams to Whitby on a high note. Wallaceburg opened the tournament with a 10-2 victory over Six Nations, then a 8-6 win over North Cumberland, an 8-5 win over Oakville, a 7-3 win over Peterborough and a close 5-4 win over Sudbury to advance to the final. Wallaceburg defeated Whitby 7-2 to win the gold medal game and the Ontario ‘C’ championship. Bea played defence for the Red Devils from 2014-2018, playing in 83 games scoring 14 goals and 64 assists for 78 points.

Salisbury coached the Wallaceburg Intermediate Boys lacrosse team to the 2018 Ontario ‘A’ championship. Wallaceburg opened with 5-3 win over Hamilton, then a 7-4 win over Neapean and a 7-6 win over Cambridge. In the semi-finals, Wallaceburg won in double overtime over the Toronto Beaches and advanced to the finals. Wallaceburg defeated Cambridge again 2-1, winning the gold medal and the Ontario ‘A’ championship. It was the first ‘A’ championship for Wallaceburg since 1993, a team that Salisbury was on as a player.

Seed coached the Intermediate Girls lacrosse team to the 2018 Ontario ‘B’ championship. They opened with 2-1 loss to London, meaning one more loss and they would be eliminated. They bounced back with a 6-3 win over Glouchester and a 1-0 win over Clarington to advance to the finals. Wallaceburg defeated St. Catharines 5-2 to win the gold medal and the Ontario ‘B’ championship. Wallaceburg also won the zone seven championship earlier in the month.

Kyle Dawson and Cory Lucier – Co-winners of the 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award: Dawson had an outstanding 2018 season playing for the Wallaceburg Red Devils. In 19 games, Dawson scored 53 goals and added 34 assists for 87 points. He was the Red Devils top scorer. In the playoffs, Dawson played nine games scoring 12 goals and 13 assists for 25 points. His career stats with the Red Devils include: 109 games played, 165 goals scored, 143 assists, for 308 points. Dawson also won a gold medal in 2018 playing for Team Canada at World Junior Championships. In three games, Dawson scored six goals and had 11 assists for 17 points. Dawson is also currently the captain of the London Nationals Junior ‘B’ hockey team. He has played 130 games since 2016 in the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League, scoring 47 goals and adding 43 assists for 90 points.

Lucier played defence for the Red Devils in 2018 and he was key to the success of the Red Devils being named team MVP. He was also named MVP in 2017. Lucier played 16 games scoring 15 goals and 29 assists for 44 points. In nine playoff games, he scored nine goals and added 13 assists for 22 points. In 2015, while playing forward, Lucier was named MVP for offence in the Ontario Junior ‘B’ Western Conference and was sixth in league scoring. Lucier’s career statistics with the Red Devils, 2012 to 2018, included: 133 games played, 150 goals scored, 246 assists for 396 points. Lucier is currently playing defence for the Dresden Junior Kings. His Junior ‘C’ hockey statistics, 2014 to 2018, include: 172 games played, 26 goals and 71 assists for 97 points, while playing for Wallaceburg and Dresden.

Chloe Lucier – 2018 Ray Aarssen / Sports Hall of Fame Scholarship: The winner must be a recent graduate of Wallaceburg District Secondary School, who is attending a college or university. During their time at WDSS, they must have been involved in school activities and athletics while maintaining high marks. Chloe Lucier is studying life physics at the University of Waterloo and hopes to use this degree to pursue a career in medicine. She was an honour student at WDSS throughout her high school career, with heavy emphasis on math and sciences. She was active with the Student Athletic Association, which organizes sports events and fundraisers. She participated in track and field and qualified for SWOSSAA in the triple jump and long jump. She played volleyball and basketball in Grades 9-12 and soccer in Grades 11 and 12. She was named volleyball’s most dedicated and received the Lambton Generator scholarship, Staff Appreciation Award and School Letters for academic and athletics.

Brad Eggett – 2018 Builder of the Year: Eggett, the owner of New Vision Optical in downtown Wallaceburg, was born in London. Him and his family moved to Wallaceburg over 20 years ago and London’s loss was a gain for Wallaceburg. Eggett soon became aware of the need as well as the importance to contribute in order to keep the community healthy both physically and socially. As a self-employed business owner, Eggett didn’t have the time to involve himself as an organizer or coach. However, he found he was able to contribute through donations or sponsorship. Eggett started out supporting his girls events, including: soccer, Basketball Wallaceburg, school-based events and extracurricular sports, such as: curling bonspiels, hockey, dances, lacrosse, Sports Hall of Fame and racing as teams or individuals. Eggett found himself enjoying running and exercise and had a great admiration for Terry Fox. Eggett participated in his first Terry Fox Run in 1995 and has run every year since. In 2017, Eggett and his wife Moira took the reigns from Doug and Leah McArthur to become Wallaceburg’s Terry Fox Run event organizers. The Eggett’s look forward to running this event for many years to come. Eggett is most
appreciative to what Wallaceburg has offered him and his family, so he does what he can to give back.