Saturday, February 27, 2021

Wallaceburg Legion Honour Guard retires

The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 18 Honour Guard has officially retired in Wallaceburg.

The last meeting of the group was held on Thursday afternoon, January 23, at Branch 18.

“For a number of reasons the (Honour Guard) has been retired,” Lana Polkinghorne, a Wallaceburg resident and Branch 18 executive member, said.

“It is hoped that the Branch will be invited to parading events going forward. It will be carried out by the general membership in their ‘blues and greys’. Therefore hopefully a much larger contingent of Legion members.”

Polkinghorne said the group did try and recruit some younger people.

“They got some replies, but not enough to carry on,” she said.

“These fellas are getting up there and getting harder and harder to march long distances.”

In the photo from the front left: Dave Lozon, Dave Garroway, Len Drouillard, commander, Al Breton, Mike Hindmarsh, branch president.

From the back left: Peter J Polkinghorne, Sandy Easton, John Daly.

Absent from the photo but an Honour Guard member: Jim Gore, Michael Charles Verstappen.

- Advertisment -