Friday, March 5, 2021

Adjustments made to small business recovery grant program

Municipality of Chatham-Kent Council made some adjustments to the newly created small business recovery grant program during Monday’s, June 29, 2020 virtual meeting.

A motion by Chatham Councillor Brock McGregor was approved, which adjusted the recommendations from administration.

The changes that were approved, include:

– The application process remaining open until July 16.

– Not for profits and charities will be eligible to apply.

– The term ‘or that relief was insufficient’ was removed from the eligibility criteria.

– A member of the not-for-profit sector being included on the small business recovery grant committee.

– A summary of applications will be brought back to council after the application period closes.

The intake period for the grants is set to begin on Thursday, July 2, 2020.

Applications can be submitted online through once the program opens.

“The small business recovery grant committee recognizes the financial strain the COVID-19 pandemic has had on all forms of businesses, not-for profits, and all levels of government,” a Municipality of Chatham-Kent information report says.

Chatham-Kent Council gave the go ahead to the $200,000 COVID-19 small business recovery grant program at their June 15, 2020 meeting.

“The focus of the program is small for-profit businesses with sales less than $5-million per year which were viable, with no going concern issues, prior to the declared state of emergency on March 17, 2020,” the information report stated.

“The business must own or lease a property within Chatham-Kent in the Commercial tax class. For applicants who own multiple businesses, only one business may apply and be eligible for the grant. Businesses must be able to demonstrate the financial hardship that the COVID-19 emergency has had on their business. Supporting documentation may be requested and reviewed by the committee in evaluating the application.”

The full requirements, eligibility criteria, and application process are attached included in the information report, which can be read, here.

Currently, the committee consists of the following members: Jamie Rainbird, manager of economic development services; Matt Torrance, director of financial services; Audrey Ansell, manager of community attraction and promotion; and Donna Pollock, executive director for the Community Futures Development Corporation of Chatham-Kent.

- Advertisment -