Second annual Community Recognition Awards being handed out April 24

The Municipality of Chatham-Kent is gearing up to celebrate unsung heroes who selflessly give back to the community through their volunteerism and dedication.

The second annual Community Recognition Awards, sponsored by CN Railway for the second consecutive year, aims to honour and express gratitude to these exceptional individuals, Municipal officials say.

“Volunteers are the heartbeat of our community, and their contributions are invaluable,” Mayor Darrin Canniff stated.

“The Community Recognition Awards provide a platform to acknowledge and celebrate their tireless efforts.”

CN Railway echoed this sentiment, expressing their honour in sponsoring the program for a second year.

“As a company deeply rooted in the communities we serve, CN Railway is proud to support the Community Recognition Awards and recognize the outstanding contributions of our local volunteers,” said Daniel Salvatore, Manager Public Affairs, Ontario & Atlantic Canada, in a press release.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for April 24 and will include live streaming.

The following is a list of 2024 Community Recognition Awards recipients:

Mark Authier
Crystal Bilinski
Susan Thiessan
JP and Catriona Huggins
Cindy Brewer
Joe Pinsonneault
Dave Cameron
Virginia Smith
Brian Armitage
Henry Van Haren
Bruce Warwick
Walter Tomaszewski
Geri Ann Hughson
Tim Haskell
Heather Belley
Frank Parker
Christine Knights
Rafi Veettil
Peggy Pankrac
Greg Hetherington
Colin Poole
Michael Wright
Lynda Weese

- Advertisment -