Thursday, September 23, 2021

Farmers curling bonspiel in Wallaceburg, Thrashers dispersal draft

curling 2016
Submitted photo

Curling Bonspiel this weekend in Wallaceburg

The 32-annual All-Ontario Farmers Curling Bonspiel will bring teams from across the province this weekend to the Sydenham Curling Club in Wallaceburg.

As per usual, a full 28 team field begins play on Friday January 20 in pursuit of the Bob Richmond Memorial trophy and top prize of $2,000.

The Co-Operators Insurance Co. joins Petro Canada / Waddick Fuels, Dekalb Seeds/Devolder Farms as platinum sponsors.

Many other sponsors join in to make a cash and product prize board in excess of $15,000.

All levels of play are rewarded with fun, fellowship and prizes befitting of an agricultural themed event.

Play continues through Saturday with finals on Sunday afternoon.

All are welcome to view the local rinks such as Gerry Meyskens, brother Dave Meyskens, Bob Dekoning and others battle it out with teams from Arther, Stayner, Forest and others at the Sydenham Community Curling club.

Also, Saturday night features entertainment provided by comedic illusionist Timothy Drake, of Dresden, and is open to all.

Dispersal draft held for former Thrashers players

Only two years after purchasing and relocating their franchise from Sarnia to Wallaceburg, the Senior “B” Thrashers have ceased operations.

A tweet posted from the Thrashers official Twitter account on December 29th, 2016 stated that the team was folding due to ‘not having an Executive for the 2017 season.’

The tweet then redirects followers to the Wallaceburg Thrashers website where a short message reiterates that the team had unsuccessfully searched for volunteers for two months to replace the outgoing Executive and thanked its fans for their support during their time in Wallaceburg.

As a result of this decision, the Ontario Senior ‘B’ Lacrosse League’s team representatives were directed by Commissioner Sharon McKeachnie to hold a pre-season dispersal draft to determine the playing rights of the current Thrashers roster.

Per the OSBLL Policy Papers, only those players on the current protected list, and any player whose rights returned to Wallaceburg at season’s end, were eligible to be drafted. Selected first overall by the Oakville Titans was Kyle Childerhose of Ingersoll, Ontario

Here are all the picks from the draft:

– Oakville Titans Lacrosse Club: Kyle Childerhose, Mitch Robertson, Jesse Gross, Shane Morlock and Ray Deveau.

– Owen Sound Senior’B’ North Stars: Tyler Glebe, Jordan VanDamme, T.J. Mara, Mitch Gagnier and Anthony Blaisdell.

– Ennismore James Gang Lacross: Colin McDowall, Winter Doxtader, Greg Kristic, Reid Miller, Thomas Muldoon and Neejig Shognash.

– Six Nations Rivermen: Joel Shepley

These teams acquired the playing senior ‘B’ rights to these former Wallaceburg players.

Kitchener Waterloo Velocity Lacrosse acquire the playing senior B rights to: Nick Trudeau, Brady Doxtator, Brad Holborough and Wes Kewley.

Remaining free agents: Maxwell Glova, Jordan Jarvis, Steve Lilley, McKenzie Turner,

Tartans top Cards in junior boys hoops

The Wallaceburg Tartans topped the Lambton-Kent Cardinals on Thursday night, 45-31.

Nic Podlacha led the Tartans with 11 points.

Jacob Alderdice led the Cardinals 8 points.

Cards top Royals in boys hockey

The Lambton-Kent Cardinals continues to role in LKSSAA boys hockey.

The Cards topped the Ridgetown Royals 7-3 on Thursday.

Ryan Ellis scored a pair of goals, with singles goals coming from Zander Wright, Scotty Glasgow, Connor Ellis, Mike Mawlam and Drake Daugherty

The winning goalie was Jamie Kiersebilck.

The Cards reamin atop the South Division with a 4-1 record.

- Advertisment -