Friday, February 26, 2021

Chamber announces new format & nominees for 2020 business awards

The Wallaceburg and District Chamber of Commerce has announced a new format for their annual Business and Community Excellence Awards.

The Chamber has also revealed the list of 2020 nominees as well.

“This year’s event will be done differently than previous years,” Jill Misselbrook, the executive director for the Chamber, told the Sydenham Current.

“The idea is to recognize those individuals and businesses that have gone above the call of duty to help and assist others and businesses that have had to think outside the box to open and run their businesses.”

Misselbrook added: “Especially during this challenging and difficult year, we wanted to be able to bring back something positive to the community of Wallaceburg and Dresden areas.”

Misselbrook said the event will be held from Monday, November 2 to Friday, November 6 on the radio station in Wallaceburg, 99.1 CKXS, during the morning show between 8:30 a.m. and 9 a.m.

Here are a list of the awards and the day they will be announced:

Here is the list of 2020 nominees:


Debot Farms – Popcorn Barn

DVS Farms Ltd. – Dave VanSegbrook

Whyte’s Foods Inc.

Industrial Achievement

1 Source Designs Ltd.

North Element Inc.

Select Finishing Ltd.


Aarkel Tool & Die Inc.

Authier Print & Promotional Ltd.

Deeply Creative


Rottier Excavating

Sydenham Field Naturalists

Business of the Year

Anderson Law Group

Shoppers Drug Mart

The Black Goose Grill

Entrepreneur of the Year

George Langstaff & Son’s Construction

Jamie Nicholson – Pet Valu

Krista Mall

Chip Gordon Community Builder

Mark Childs

Mark & Sarah’s No Frills

Wallaceburg Adult Activity Centre

Young Professional

Andrew Bourdeau

Justin Everaert

Shelby Pearce

Volunteer of the Year

Dorothy and Gordon Heath

Madison Hetherington – Clean Helping Hands CK

May 16 Miracle – Wallaceburg and Dresden Team

Citizen of the Year

George Langstaff

Harriet Marchand

Mark Childs

Community Inclusion

Little Caesars

Select Finishing

Star Janitorial Services

Wallaceburg BIA

To be announced

Dresden BIA

Liz Kominek

Stuart Kiar

Tyler Ouellette

- Advertisment -