Dan Miskokomon elected Chief of Walpole Island, new Council sworn in

The new Walpole Island Band Council was officially sworn in on Wednesday, September 21, 2022 during a ceremony held at the Walpole Island Sports Complex.

Dan Miskokomon will once again be Chief of the First Nation, after gathering the most votes during the election held on Saturday, September 17, 2022.

Miskokomon topped the polls with 287 votes, just 10 votes more than runner-up Lee Kicknosway, who gathered 277.

Elaine (Celia) Wrightman was the top vote getter for Council, gathering 556 votes.

Also elected to Council were Cody Miskokomon, Marsha Miskokomon, Lee Jacobs, Amy White, Clint Peters, Burton Kewayosh, Billy Bronson Soney, Muriel ‘Shween’ Sampson, Shirley Tooshkenig and Brennan Altiman.

A total of 991 ballots were cast for Chief, while 1,002 votes were cast for Council.

Walpole Island officials say the vote count was diligently conducted in accordance with the Indian Band Election Regulations.

The term of Council is for two years.

- Advertisment -