Monday, October 3, 2022

Jeanne Gordon among the initial inductees for the Chatham-Kent Arts and Culture Network’s ‘Heroes Wall of Fame’

12 local cultural icons will form the inaugural 2022 class of inductees to the new Chatham-Kent Arts and Culture ‘Heroes Wall of Fame’, sponsored by Waste Connections Canada.

The Heroes Wall of Fame, to be housed at the Chatham Cultural Centre, is the initial program of the Chatham Kent Arts & Culture Network (CKACN), a new community arts council incorporated in January 2021 to support the arts and cultural sector of the Municipality of Chatham-Kent.

“The Heroes Wall of Fame supports the goal of fostering the local arts community by honouring individuals or groups who have distinguished themselves in their chosen field or artistic practice both within and beyond Chatham-Kent,” stated James Snyder, CKACN chair, in a media release.

“These 12, and inductees in future years, have brought not only tremendous recognition to themselves but have instilled great pride in the citizens of their home communities.”

Cathy Smith, manager, infrastructure and stakeholder relations at Waste Connections of Canada, added: “Each of the various communities of Chatham-Kent has a long and vibrant history of artistic individuals and groups who have honed their talents and crafts locally and then taken them to great acclaim around the world. We at Waste Connections of Canada, operator of the Ridge Landfill, are happy to help acknowledge their gifts and contributions in such a special and permanent way.”

Annual inductions will take place under six categories: Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Music, Dance, Literary Arts and Cultural Builders.

The 2022 Class of Inductees, include:

Visual Arts

– Artis Lane – Painter and Sculptor (North Buxton)

– Janet Forsyth – Painter (Blenheim)

Performing Arts

– Keene Duncan – Movie and Television Actor (Chatham)

– Theatre Kent – Community Theatre Group (Chatham-Kent)


– Jeanne Gordon – Opera Singer (Wallaceburg)

– Sylvia Tyson – Folk and Country Singer (Chatham)


– Shae-Lynn Bourne – Dancer and Choreographer (Chatham)

– Florence Abel – Dancer and Instructor (Chatham)

Literary Arts

– Robertson Davies – Author, Playwright and Critic (Thamesville)

– June Callwood – Journalist and Activist (Chatham)

Cultural Builders

– Gwendolyne Gold – Cultural Builder (South Kent)

– Barbara Jean Rossini – Cultural Builder (Chatham)

“These inductees were chosen from the many nominations provided by interested citizens and the oversight committee, and it was difficult to narrow down choices for our inaugural class,” said Snyder.

“I am certain we can all think of other worthy candidates to bring forward for recognition in future years.”

Efforts were made to represent various communities around the municipality, as well as honor both legacy and more contemporary choices, CKACN officials say.

Inductees will have a plaque permanently mounted at the Chatham Cultural Centre, inclusion on the ‘virtual wall’ on the CKACN website, a remembrance to take home, and recognition at both a public event and a regularly scheduled meeting of the Municipal Council.

The inductees will be honoured at an Induction Ceremony and Wall Unveiling at the Chatham Armouries and the Chatham Cultural Centre on October 26 at 7 p.m.

Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

The public is welcome but must RSVP in advance to

The Heroes Wall of Fame oversight committee included James Snyder (chair), Peter Garapick, Laurie Langford, Lisa Lester, Heather Slater (advisor) and Art Stirling.

- Advertisment -