CK Plan 2035 Advisory Committee (CKPC) is pleased to announce that its inaugural meeting was held on February 4, 2019 at the Civic Centre.

The meeting began with introductions by Don Shropshire, Chief Administrative Officer and featured an election for Chair and Co-Chair.

Councillor Melissa Harrigan was elected as Chair and Joey Cyples was elected as Co-Chair.

“I am excited to be the Chair of the CK Plan 2035 Advisory Committee,” Coun. Harrigan said in a press release.

“I believe we have an excellent group with Mayor Darrin Canniff, Councillors Marjorie Crew and Amy Finn along with our community appointees, Joey Cyples, Stephanie Dries and Robb Nelson. CK Plan 2035 represents the long term vision for what we hope to achieve as a community, and this committee will play a key role in ensuring CK is achieving our goals, and following the plan we have set out for ourselves to make Chatham-Kent a great community to live, work, and play.”

Within the context, that council is responsible to establish and maintain a dynamic strategic plan; the role of the committee is to:

– Identify opportunities to advance the CK Plan 2035

– Advocate for, and support strategic thinking

– Monitor strategic progress

– Promote community awareness of the CK Plan 2035

Cyples said he is, “looking forward to being a part of this work as they will support Council in their Strategy session to set Council’s term priorities and provide a community voice in identifying ways of making the vision of Chatham-Kent a reality.”

Shropshire stated: “This committee is critically important as they will be a voice to encourage strategic thinking and community engagement to support Council to achieve the desired outcomes detailed in CK Plan 2035.”

CK Plan 2035 Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public with future meeting dates and times set to be posted on the municipal website, here.

Please visit the website for more information including a list of members and terms of reference.