Thursday, April 2, 2020

Inaugural ceremony set for new Chatham-Kent Council

(Municipality of Chatham-Kent)

The inaugural ceremony for the newly elected Chatham-Kent Council is taking place tonight, December 3, in Chatham.

The ceremony begins at 6 p.m. at the John D. Bradley Convention Centre and is open to the public.

“(Tonight) we make it official,” tweeted Mayor-Elect Darrin Canniff.

“I encourage you to come out to the John D. Bradley Centre at 6 p.m. to support the new councillors and I as we officially take office. Thank you all for the support over the last several months. Let’s get to work!”

Here is the agenda for the evening:

– Marching of Dignitaries and Placing of Flags: Chatham-Kent Honour Guard

– O’ Canada: CKSS Choir

– Town Crier: George L. Sims

– Call to Order & Official Welcome: Don Shropshire, CAO

– Introduction of Clergy & Judiciary: Don Shropshire, CAO

– Statement of Election: Judy Smith, Clerk

– Invocation & Remarks: Father Don Pumputis

– Remarks: Honourable Stephen J. Fuerth

– Swearing in of Darrin Canniff, Mayor: Honourable Stephen J. Fuerth

– Swearing in of Members of Council: Honourable Stephen J. Fuerth

– Messages from Members of Parliament: Dave Van Kesteren, MP, Bev Shipley, MP

– Messages from Members of Provincial Parliament: Rick Nicholls, MPP, Monte McNaughton, MPP

– Inaugural Address: Mayor Darrin Canniff

– Closing Prayer: Pastor Alan McIntyre

– Adjournment

– Marching of Dignitaries: Chatham-Kent Honour Guard

Council will meet in regular session on Monday, December 10 for their first business meeting.

A combined planning and regular Council meeting will be held on Monday, December 17 as well.

Both of these meeting begin at 6 p.m. at the Civic Centre in Chatham.

- Advertisment -