Friday, August 12, 2022

Jordan Durston signs with the Albany FireWolves of the NLL

Wallaceburg’s Jordan Durston has signed a one-year contract with the Albany Firewolves of the National Lacrosse League.

“Things got a little DURTY last week,” the FireWolves tweeted on Monday, July 26, 2021.

The FireWolves say Durston enters his second season within the organization.

“Beginning at the Jr. B level, Durston starred for the Wallaceburg Red Devils from 2010-14,” team officials say.

“He then joined the Six Nations Chiefs where he helped the team win back-to-back Minto Cups in 2014 and 2015.”

Team officials added: “Durston broke into the NLL in 2015 when he was drafted by the Vancouver Stealth. After spending his first two seasons in the league with the Stealth, Durston moved to the Buffalo Bandits where he played another two years. He was then drafted by the New York Riptide in the league’s expansion draft but traded shortly after to the New England Black Wolves. In just 10 games with the Black Wolves prior to the COVID shutdown, Durston racked up 18 total points. In total, the five-year veteran has tallied 211 points in just 81 games in the NLL.”

FireWolves officials say Durston is “pumped” to get back to playing.

“And is looking forward to coming to the Capital Region to play in front of the best fans in the league,” team officials added.

The NLL will officially start its 35th season with Face Off Weekend, December 3-4th, 2021, with six games across North America.

A new two-Conference format, expanded playoffs, and the inaugural season of Panther City Lacrosse Club are among the changes in the upcoming season.

The NLL’s 14 teams competing this year will be aligned into two Conferences: East (Albany FireWolves, Buffalo Bandits, Georgia Swarm, Halifax Thunderbirds, New York Riptide, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, and Toronto Rock); and West (Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Panther City Lacrosse Club, San Diego Seals, Saskatchewan Rush, and Vancouver Warriors).

The new alignment means a revised playoff format, with the top four teams in the East and top three in the West advancing to the playoffs. The eighth playoff slot will go to the team with the better record between the fifth place East and fourth place West teams, per NLL tiebreaker rules.

The first round will be single elimination, while the second round and Finals will each be best-of-three series.

The first matchup for the 2021-22 season will take place on Friday, December 3, when Colorado visits San Diego.

On Saturday, December 4, there will be five matches, with Calgary visiting Buffalo, Philadelphia visiting Georgia, Rochester visiting New York, Saskatchewan visiting Halifax and Albany taking on Toronto in its new home in Hamilton, Ontario.

Two teams, Vancouver and expansion Panther City, will have byes the first weekend.

- Advertisment -